Well, that explains a lot.

A couple of weeks ago, I was going through a stack of papers my mom saved from when I was in 6th grade. I found a short essay I wrote entitled “If I Had Three Wishes”. Here it is, in all of it’s glory (spelling & grammar mistakes intact).

“If I had three wishes, they would be…”

My first wish would be for [name omitted] to be my sister. We are just like sisters. We fight like sisters, we talk like sisters & even my mom says we look somewhat like sisters.

My second wish would be to be more responcable. I would think of things helpful to do on my own so Mom wouldn’t yell so much.

My third and most important wish would be to keep my grades up & go to vet school. Then I could give kids discounts so they could get their animals shots & other things cheaper. Especially animals that were rescued from shelters & pounds.

First, I would like to point out that even at the tender age of 11, I didn’t write out “and”. I wasn’t using ampersands (but who actually writes an ampersand, anyway?) but I was using the little + sign instead of writing out the word.

But what this post is really about is the bolded portion. I wanted to be more responsible so that Mom wouldn’t yell so much. I was given three wishes – I assume we were told they could be anything we wanted (except additional wishes), & I chose this. As an 11-year-old girl, I used 1/3 of my wishes on a trait that should be learned, fostered, & nurtured.

I didn’t wish for chocolate milkshakes for breakfast, or a pink bike for my birthday. I didn’t wish for new shoes, or to wear makeup like the older girls. I didn’t wish for the newest, coolest CD, or the latest & greatest jeans that were surely all the rage.

It makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

